Bao-Shan Pavilion
  • 04
  • 03
  • 02
  • 01
Location: Hsinchu, Taiwan
Design: May,2002–August,2002
Building: June,2002–December,2002
Site Area: 330.57㎡
Subtotal Area: 99.17㎡
Concept, Design and Construction

This was an exciting project for Banmu Tang Architects and thought-provoking things happen in Bao-Shan Pavilion.

Before Bao-Shan Pavilion, there was a brick farmhouse in the middle of a rice field. Nearby, a stone-processing plant with corrugated-steel roofs, and a small temple of the Earth God, along with a betel-nut booth with neon. Taken together, the scene is a snapshot of Taiwan. The seeming chaotic composition of building types and materials are common elements that, in some way, exhibit the local tradition and culture. The new building has to co-exist with these elements instead of walling itself up. Through careful observations, we develop an appropriate discourse with the elements, as well as a balanced relationship among nature, people and architecture.

Guarding by the Earth God, visitors may find the temple at the entrance while seeing the main building through a double-circle window on a fair-faced concrete wall. The wall severs the direct path to the main building and redirects visitors along a winding path to experience the sound of water cascades, the view of rice field, and the posture of a camphor tree in the mist of rice field. The experience calms visitors and prepares them to open their minds. Inside Bao-Shan Pavilion, a concrete wall cuts into the building and brings the outdoor inside hinting the connection between body and mind. By the doorway, there is a long reception table and a kitchen island serving tea and soup to welcome visitors.

At the doorway, visitors may wander in three directions: to the left a space with a kitchen island for cooking, meeting or reading; straight ahead, a hallway leading to the backyard; and to the right, a threshold connecting to a 12-meter wide square room for exhibitions and literary activities. By opening all French windows in the room, it is turned into a porch inviting the outdoor nature in, the wind and the rain, to come in. The floor extends out of the windows onto a deck facing a rice field. The deck is built at the height of rice paddies so that visitors may sit right next to it and admire the scenery. In summer time, when the rice has grown, Bao-Shan Pavilion appears floating on top of a sea of rice fields under the big blue sky.

Guan-Jia-Tai is a platform under a big tree, situated in the middle of the rice field, for visitors to observe and admire farming activities and the growth of rice. It is only accessible through a back alley, lined with green moth and Japanese ivy and shaded by an old tree. By the old tree, a gate connects to a wooden catwalk extending to Guan-Jia-Tai. Visitors, after gingerly moving through the long and narrow catwalk, are rewarded with a full view of Bao-Shan Pavilion, as well as the complete encirclement by the nature.

In the site of area more than 300 square meters, the building occupies the area less than 100 square meters. This was our answer for a place for heart and soul. Through countless twists and turnings, searching and wonderings, the yearnings are fulfilled by returning to the nature. We believe that the nature is in a rice field, under a tree, or even, just in a breeze.

寶山會館
  • a
  • 寶山4
  • 寶山3
  • 寶山1
寶山會館 Bao-Shan Pavilion

整體規畫暨營造工程

位置 新竹

規劃時間2002/05-2002/08

興建時間2002/06-2002/12

基地面積330.57平方公尺

總樓地板面積99.17平方公尺

 

對半畝塘來說,這是個有趣的開端,所有有趣的事都從寶山會館開始發生。

 

寶山會館的前身,其實是一間被稻田包圍的老舊農舍,農舍斜對面是鐵皮加蓋的石材加工廠,農舍右前方是間小的土地公廟,背向坡坎下方的轉角還有一間霓虹閃耀的檳榔攤……,這一切的景象,儼然就是台灣成長歷程的縮影。這些尋常的風景便是台灣土地上的風俗與文化,而建築在此興建,無疑的就是要與這一切相容,絕非堆砌出一堵牆把它阻絕在外。因此,我們讓基地環境告訴我們怎麼做,在傾聽的過程中,找到適合的回應方式,也找出自然、人、建築之間的關係。

 

從大馬路旁的蜿蜒小徑進來,跟守護的土地公打聲招呼,一道清水導牆鑲崁著雙圓花窗,視線可以直接穿透,可以看到裡面的建築,卻無法馬上進入屋內,只能順著導牆前進,耳邊傳來的水瀑聲不僅屏蔽不遠處的車聲,細細聆聽時也讓人慢慢地靜下來,在此留了一個小平台恰好能在此止住腳步,放眼無邊際的稻田中央有株開展的樟樹,搖曳稻浪與婆娑樹影,頓時也開啟了心中的嚮往,沿著導牆繼續探索,也逐漸打破都市與農村的藩籬。走進會館裡,延伸到屋內的清水牆模糊與戶外的界線,透過場所的鋪陳,轉圜與駐留間也牽動了身體與心靈,開啟了各種關係之間的良善互動。入口處有一只稍低於腰際的原木長檯,一旁是中島吧台,烹茶下麵以日常與生活招呼著來訪的客人。

 

進入室內後動線一分為三,左方中島除了煮食也可以開會可以閱讀,直直穿越室內可以通往後院,或是隨著牆面開口的引導來到一處12米長寬的簡單方型空間,沒有安置固定家具,在這裡可以舉辦各類藝文活動或展覽。面對稻田的採光落地窗,推開通透的十字門扇,會館就如同一頂吹風聽雨的大亭子,內外連結環境及生活,跟隨田野的韻律運行。也以結穗後的稻秧高度作為戶外平台的高度,每到夏季,會館飄在濃綠的稻海上,來訪的朋友總是長坐觀稼台,雙腳不禁自然垂下任意伸進稻海裡,在此自在的躺臥,被自然環抱的喜悅在此感到滿足。

 

推開後門,綠苔與爬牆虎佔滿四週,樹蔭下簡單的ㄇ型開口與對岸那頭老樹篩下的點點陽光,一條細長的木棧道往田中央延伸,是通往老樹觀稼台唯一路徑,細長漂浮的橋面促使遊者專注腳步往大樹走去。直到到達平台的剎那,剛剛走進會館路上的景象與道路出現眼前,而置身在此的遊者也成為風景的一部分,感受人與自然相處的安逸自在感。

 

近百坪的基地中建築只佔了三十坪,是半畝塘當時對心靈居所的解答,經過數不清的轉折、尋找、迷惑中,人們追求得以回歸天地之間。而在我們的心中,天地就在一片稻浪裡,一棵大樹下,或是一陣藏著草香的沁涼微風裡。